It's getting warm out there, Colorado. The dog days of summer are arriving on the Western Slope, and that means plenty of days with near triple-digit heat. Thank goodness for air-conditioning.

August is the time of year when people in Grand Junction often bake cookies right on the dashboard of their cars because it gets that hot out. It's also the time of year when you could get a ticket thanks to Colorado's Puffer Law.

Cooling Off Your Car in Colorado

Colorado's Puffer Law is in place 365 days a year. Not only is it illegal to warm up your car in the winter unattended, but it's also illegal to let it run during the summer to allow your A/C to cool down the car.  Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-1206 says it is illegal to start your car and then leave it running unattended. Did you know about 40% of Colorado is unaware of this law?

What is the Puffer Law Fine in Colorado?

Most people who are unaware of this law often think it has something to do with Marijuana. It's not that kind of puff. It's the puff of your exhaust coming out of the car that can get you a ticket. The minimum fine for starting your car and letting it run is $60. The fine may be more depending on where you live.

Tips to Help Keep Your Car Cool in the Summer

One of the easiest solutions for keeping a parked car cool is to park it in the shade when possible. Having a windshield visor or covering your dash and steering wheel will help, and so will leave the windows open a tiny bit for venting. Covering leather will help reduce the temp. You can also explore legal window tinting to help keep the head out.

LOOK: Strangest Laws in Colorado You're Probably Breaking Right Now

We all try our hardest to follow the law, even when we don't agree with them. We took a look at some of Colorado's laws and discovered a few that make no sense at all.

We know drinking and driving is illegal, but did you know riding a horse while intoxicated is illegal. Or take a mule or donkey into a building could get you in trouble.

And whoever threw a missile at a car is someone we'd like to meet.

Take a look at Colorado's most outrageous laws on the books.

DID YOU KNOW: It Is Illegal To Throw These Things Away In Colorado

There are 14 items that should never be thrown out with the trash in Colorado. Check out this helpful list of hazardous waste reminders that should never go in the garbage in Colorado. While some of these items can be turned in on local hazardous waste collection days, six items on this list can get you into big trouble if you are caught dumping them at a landfill.

MORE: 10 Places You Can Open Carry Legally In Colorado

As long as you are not in Denver, County, you can open carry a firearm in several places in Colorado. Local ordinances and signs must be observed and followed while in several communities, but some of Colorado's most beautiful places allow for open carry as is your right as an American citizen.